Raised Garden Beds Using Pallets

DIYPalletRaisedBed1
DIY Pallet Raised Garden Bed

This year I decided to not plow my ground and instead use raised garden beds.  There are so many advantages over using raised garden beds compared to direct ground.  However, a lot of stores sell kits ranging from $40 to $200.  For me, I want something cost efficient to increase my return on investment.  So, I decided to go the free route, or very close to free!

 

I have been stocking pallets since last year from my job.  We get them in with different shipments and some of them are in great condition, while others are a little less than desirable.  But, it’s free wood that’s already cut!  If your job doesn’t have these lying around, you can easily pick them up from stores or other places of business.  You want to get the nonpainted/nontreated type for this build.  Paint and other chemicals can leak into the soil and you don’t want that for your plants.

DIYPalletRaisedBed2
DIY Pallet Raised Garden Bed

I’ve built a few already this year, but I wanted to show you guys what the final product looks like.  The inside space measures 40 inches by 40 inches and gives you just over nine square feet of soil space.  The height of the bed measures right at 10 1/2 inches which is right in the sweet spot for growing vegetables.

 

I also grabbed some video from the build, from start to finish!  I’m going to edit it and it will be posted tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

